Self-introduction

Yoshiki Fujiwara
3 min readSep 6, 2019

I would like to introduce myself.

My name is Yoshiki Fujiwara. I am an infrastructure engineer.

I’m going to write mainly on technical things under the blog name “*Transporter” in Japanese and translate into English here.

I am particularly interested in infrastructure, networking, Kubernetes, and Cloud Native technologies.

Well, this time I will write about “Why I started to write a blog?”

Three main factors drove me to writing a blog:

1. Participation in several study sessions / meetups

I had no experience in the IT industry before working at a help desk in my previous job.

In order to acquire skills and knowledge as an engineer, I have actively participated in study sessions and meetups on topics of my interest inside and outside the company.

When I joined there I thought that “I felt guilty to be given a lot from them but gave a little in return” “I want to contribute to these communities somehow even a little” and joined events like Japan Cotainer Days V18.12 , Cloud Native Days Tokyo 2019 as a volunteer staff. And took over the host of our company’s in-house study sessions I attended.

Although I will continue to support information dissemination and exchange it as I believe it’s important, “I want to disseminate what I struggled with and write about what I did to improve, not only through training, but how I gave support and made my own training regimen“ and “ I want to contribute in a slightly different way”.

2. Changing of my role in my project

From January 2018 to June 2019, I worked as an operational member for a project that was present at a customer site, but in July, I moved to a design / deployment member of the same project.

As the role changed, I came to be in a position to explain and educate operational members as well as acquire my own skills.

Immediately, the first version was released, considering an education menu for network technology project members using the virtual environment (GNS3).

From now on, I will continue with the second and third versions, but now I want to create a place even outside the company where I can announce the results and initiatives within the project .

3. Participation in in-house engineering mentor program

This is the strongest reason. I joined the “Engineering Mentor Program” in my company.One of my colleagues, Mr.Yokochi started this program and wrote about it in note website in Japanese and also, I wrote about it too in English. Please click the link for more details.

In short, it is a program that will become a “consultant who supports the growth of engineers who want to take a step up in the company regardless of their department”.

The theme is mainly composed of the following three, and I chose the way to interact with the technology (how to input/output).

・ How to interact with technology (learning methods / outputs / roles in our company)

・ How to interact with the outside of the company (community / study session: support engineers who want to participate but don’t know how to find them)

・ Others (what you want engineers to ask, what you want to talk about)

This program emphasizes autonomy, and the Mentee will decide the period / task / graduation condition of this program.

As I mentioned above, the place of output is an issue, and I am consulting about how to produce the method / content / quality of the output. In the first meeting with Mr. Yokochi, as an output form, we agreed on the idea of “blogging” and received various proposals and information.

“Engineering can go anywhere” is the goal of this program.

Because I have been consistent with the goal, I want to achieve the goal with support of the helpful Mentor.

In the next blog , I will write “How Japanese Network Engineer passed the English version of AWS Certified Solutions Architect Associate (SAA)”.

Bye now!!

Yoshiki Fujiwara

* The blog title “Transporter” was derived from the fact that I was a newly graduated university student and joined a company and was doing “physical container sales”. At that time, we used the container space of shipping companies and airlines to arrange international travel for luggage with agents around the world.

In the end , arrange the import and export of luggage, instead of taking a “customs officer qualification”, I took “National Interpreter Qualification (As a Tour Guide)” to guide customers in English.*

--

--

Yoshiki Fujiwara

・Cloud Solutions Architect - AWS@NetApp in Tokyo, Japan. #AWS Certified Solution Architect&DevOps Professional, #Kubernetes, ・Opinions are my own.